2019 City of Whiting Scholarship Programs

Students who are dependents of a Whiting owner-occupied home, please keep in mind that the deadline is drawing near to apply for the 2019 City of Whiting Scholarship and the 2017 City of Whiting Technical Education Scholarship.

The deadline for turning in completed applications to City Hall is 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, May 1, 2019. Copies of the applications are available in the Mayor’s office or can be downloaded to your computer by clicking the links below:



In order to qualify for the original scholarship, applicants must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0, be the dependent of a Whiting homeowner who occupies that home and attend a regionally accredited institution of higher learning. This year up to four scholarships may be awarded and the value of the scholarship for the Class of 2019 will be $6,250 per academic year for a total award of $25,000 over four years.

Also available is the City of Whiting Technical Education Scholarship for those who wish to pursue courses of study at technical or vocational schools. This year one scholarship may be awarded with a value of $3,000 per year for a two year award totaling $6,000. In order to qualify for this scholarship, the student should have either pursued a technical education curriculum while in high school with a minimum GPA in technical courses of 2.5 or have a minimum GPA of 2.8, be the dependent of a Whiting homeowner who occupies that home and attend a regionally accredited technical education institution.

A five member committee will review the applications based on scholastic achievement, involvement and leadership activities within the school, and involvement and leadership within the community. The submittal requires an application, signed media release, senior photograph, current transcript and class rank (including SAT/ACT scores) and three letters of recommendation from individuals associated with the activities in which the student has participated. At least one letter of recommendation must come from an individual who is not affiliated with the student’s school system. We urge students to make sure the application is completed in its entirety and all attachments are included.

This scholarship is a great opportunity for a student who has excelled both inside and outside the classroom. It is not based on economic need but rather on the leadership and community involvement which the student has displayed. Past recipients include Haleigh Suarez, Ryan Willoughby, Katherine Staley, Aldo Lopez, Megan Kazmierski, Elizabeth Murzyn,  Julianne Stribiak, Elliot Bibat,

Desiree Kristek, Brianna Scivinsky, Danielle Mantich, Erin Mahony, Elena Sobilo, Alivia Jakubowski, Nolan Michniewicz, Alexandra Danielides, Diana Lopez, Nina Mantich, Margaret Mills-Groninger, Emily Canning, David Gormley, Guadalupe Ruiz, Mary Lowry, Amanda Bonchik, Rana Hamad, Timothy Lowe, Julianna Scivinsky and Sara Mantich.

For further information contact City Hall at (219)659-7700.