City of Whiting Scholarship Programs for 2015

Students who are dependents of a Whiting owner-occupied home, please keep in mind that the deadline is drawing near to apply for the 2015 City of Whiting Scholarship and the 2015 City of Whiting Technical Education Scholarship.

The deadline for turning in applications to City Hall is 4:30 pm on Friday, May 1, 2015.  Copies of the applications are available in the Mayor’s office or online at

In order to qualify for the original scholarship, applicants must be in the top 25% of his/her graduating class, be the dependent of a Whiting homeowner who occupies that home, and attend a regionally accredited institution of higher learning.  This year up to three scholarships may be awarded and the value of the scholarship has been increased for the Class of 2015 to $4,000 per academic year for a total award of $16,000 over four years.

The Mayor is also pleased to announce that the City has created a new scholarship award for this year.  This is the City of Whiting Technical Education Scholarship for those who wish to pursue courses of study at technical or vocational schools.  This year one scholarship may be awarded with a value of $3,000 per year for a two year award totaling $6,000.  In order to qualify for this scholarship, the student should have either pursued a technical education curriculum while in high school or have a minimum GPR of 2.8, be the dependent of a Whiting homeowner who occupies that home, and attend a regionally accredited technical education institution.

A five member committee will review the applications based on scholastic achievement, involvement and leadership activities within the school, and involvement and leadership within the community.  The submittal requires an application, signed media release, senior photograph, current transcript and class rank (including SAT/ACT scores) and three letters of recommendation from individuals associated with the activities in which the student has participated.  At least one letter of recommendation must come from an individual who is not affiliated with the Whiting School System.

This scholarship is a great opportunity for a student who has excelled both inside and outside the classroom.  It is not based on economic need but rather on the leadership and community involvement which the student has displayed.  Past recipients include Haleigh Suarez, Ryan Willoughby, Katherine Staley, Aldo Lopez, Megan Kazmierski, Elizabeth Murzyn, Julianne Stribiak, Elliot Bibat, Desiree Kristek, Brianna Scivinsky, Danielle Mantich, Erin Mahony and Elena Sobilo.  For further information contact City Hall at (219) 659-7704, ext. 229