Mayor Joe Stahura Receives the 2010 Distinguished Service Award

Whiting Mayor Joe Stahura received the 2010 Russell G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award from the Indiana Association of Cities and Towns (IACT). Mayor Stahura received the award at the Annual Banquet on Tuesday, October 5 at the 2010 IACT Annual Conference & Exhibition in Fort Wayne, IN. The Russell G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to local government. Nominees for this prestigious award must display accomplishments beyond their community, including contributions to IACT and public service, leadership and personal initiative. Among his many accomplishments, Mayor Stahura’s leadership during tough fiscal times, commitment to transparency in government, and vision for Whiting’s future were all cited as reasons why he was the perfect candidate for this year’s top municipal award. In its 34th year, the IACT Annual Awards program, presented by Umbaugh, recognizes communities and individuals in municipal government for excellence and outstanding achievement. A nine-member panel of qualified judges selected this year’s winners from a competitive field of nominees from around the state. The Indiana Associations of Cities and Towns (IACT) is a coalition of municipal officials who seek to improve the quality of life in Indiana through effective government, and is a member of the National League of Cities. Founded in 1891, IACT is one of the oldest state municipal organizations in the country, with 467 cities and towns as members, IACT advocates for municipalities as the official voice of municipal government in Indiana, and promotes good government through education, training and leadership.