Whiting Among Eight Schools Nominated for Blue Ribbon Award

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Suellen Reed announced that eight Indiana public schools have been nominated for the federal No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Program. Schools are separated into two groups; with at least one-third of the schools having at least 40% disadvantaged students. Schools with at least 40% disadvantaged students that have dramatically improved student achievement: Beiger Elementary School, Mishawaka, Liberty Park Elementary School, Indianapolis, Rousseau McClellan School 91, Indianapolis, WHITING HIGH SCHOOL, WHITING. Schools in the top 10% of the state with fewer than 40% disadvantaged students: Centerton Elementary, Martinsville, Hazel Dell Elementary, Noblesville, Signature School Inc., Evansville, Union Township Middle School, Valparaiso. Schools nominated cannot have been selected in 2003, 2004, 2005, or 2006, and of the schools submitted by each state, at least one-third must meet the criterion of having 40% of the students from disadvantaged backgrounds. For more information on the program, visit the Indiana Department of Education Web site at www.doe.state.in.us/accreditation/blueribb.html or the U.S. Department of Education Web site at www.ed.gov/programs/nclbbrs/index.html .